Spartathlon 2009 – Results – Ryoichi and Inagaki Win

spartathlon_09The Spartathlon is one of the legendary ultramarathons currently taking place. Starting in Athens and following the route that Pheidippides is thought to have taken to Sparta, this modern day challenge attracts the some of the best ultra runners in the world. The 246 km (152 miles) route began at the Acropolis in Athens at 7:00am 25th September with a time limit of 36 hours.

First across the line this year was Japanese champion Sekiya Ryoichi in 23:48:24 and first lady was another great Japanese athlete, Sumie Inagaki who finished 14th overall in 27:39:49. Second place went to Lars Christoffersen, fresh from his record breaking victory in the Gothenburg 6 day race in Sweden.

1 Sekiya Ryoichi 23:48:24
2 Lars Christoffersen 24:31:45
3 Jon Berge 25:09:38

1 Sumie Inagaki 27:39:49
2 Matsuda Yoshiko 31:16:12
3 Lisa Bliss 32:23:26

Spartathlon 2009 results are being added to the site as finishers cross the line. The home of multiday running news and events.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.